Message for Europa

Woah! This is cool. I hadn’t even heard of this mission till this morning. I might not do ‘news’ but I am subscribed to NASA and JPL on YouTube, but I just haven’t bothered checking out their posts in a while… till I saw the image for this one today.

Message to Europa

Message

Poem to Europa

I wish I’d seen this earlier so I could have my name on the list going to Europa, but anyway, at least my name should be going to the Moon and Mars still. 

Ticket to Mars
Ticket to the Moon

And now for something self-related to destroy this cool post. Haha.

It was a strange sequence of thoughts that led me to discovering this ‘message in a bottle’. When I woke this morning and worked through my morning thoughts, plans for the day and memories of yesterday,  a song appeared in my mind and got caught up there. This song triggered the memory of a  realistic dream I’d had this very night.

It was a wowser of a dream. I only remember it as a moment. It was a very normal moment for me too. The crazy part was that in that normal moment I recalled a memory of something happening in the past as if it really had happened, but in real life it has not. The memory helped me make a decision in that dream moment. I am not going into the details, but I did end up quickly grabbing my computer and writing down what I could recall. Is it called ‘writing it down’ when I’m really ‘typing it up’?

At first I hadn’t realised the song in my head triggered the dream remembrance. After writing it all down I went to grab my morning coffee and the song returned to my mind. When I get songs in my head like that, I try to recall the lyrics of the bit that repeats and figure out how the song got there in the first place. Then I look at the song lyrics as a whole. I’m a bit of a lyricophile. So here I was making a coffee and singing the song aloud now,  when I realised the words I was singing related to the dream. That was when I realised the tune in my head caused me to recall the dream.

I rushed off to find my phone and check out the lyrics (not trusting my memory for some reason even though I knew every word). I played it on spotify first. Then I thought about watching the old video clip for it. I didn’t quite get there, for as I opened YouTube a suggested video on a channel I’m subscribed to got my attention instead. It was related to the dream in a way and my mind was wandering that direction, so I followed my mind and clicked the suggestion. The next suggestion was from another subscribed channel, NASA, for the above first video. I got lost in the wonder of it.

I love working with themes myself, so really loved the way they played with the water theme. I mean, hey, how clever is the idea of ‘sound’ waves as part of the water theme.

So as I drift on into a cloudy Sunday, I share with you a song that continues to swirl around my mind.

Leave a comment