“You’ve got three minutes”

Today I decided to go check out a ‘sketch club’ thing. I had to bring my own art supplies and just do whatever with whatever was presented to us.

I knew I would only get so many minutes to draw before the model moved, but I didn’t realise how quickly the minutes was when your brain wants to get details right. You just can’t do details. Like faces or fabric folds. I learnt that the hard way.

Here’s a few of my first attempts. There were a few more with scribbles through them like the middle image from frustration. Haha.

I seriously can’t draw faces. Haha.

After trying and failing to sketch realistically,  I decided to play with the shapes I could see the bodies make. Btw, all  models were fully clothed.

I discovered today that feet are like triangles

Then after taking a break and deciding to just do whatever first came to my mind, I came up with these two to finish off the session. The hare-person actually started out as a woman with a weird paper hat. And the last one for the day was playing with light and shadow whilst restricting myself to moving my pencil side to side only.

‘Hats’ was the theme for today

So that was a bit of fun in the end, even if the first half was definitely not fun. Haha. I think I’ll have to go to sketch club again.

It was interesting to see what I could produce when restricted to three minutes. A mess mostly, but also exploration of ability and imagination.

Leave a comment