Tree Trees Green

According to a DNA test I did a few years ago, I’m 9% Irish. So today, St Paddy’s Day, I did some math and figured I should spend 9% of my day celebrating it. So for at least 2.25 hours this evening I hung out at the good old Eltham Pub with folk music and Irish tunes from the nephew and co. There was food, friends, drinks and laughs… lots of laughs when Brodie Buttons sang his highly educational Mary-Jane song and a table of old folks pulled prune faces and left. And now I know exactly when to plant and when to harvest if I ever want to grow a crop hidden in the bush. Haha. I recall visiting one of their past homes one day and at the back of the vege patch was a huge wall of the special stuff. He’s definitely got a green thumb, that young man.

At the Eltham

I got to thinking on the way home about my DNA test and how I’d like to get Brodie to write me a song about “If you want to be my lover, you’ve got to get a DNA test”, cause I could be related to anyone up here thanks to a great grandfather being a local travelling salesman. And I could also be related to folks around Newcastle thanks to a grandfather being a High School Head Master and my father having a doppelganger who grew up a few suburbs over from him. At least I know I’m definitely related to the 3 above mentioned males because I’ve got strong DNA matches to people in their family trees. Buuuuut, I’m not having any kids with anyone so maybe being related and not knowing won’t be a problem. Haha.

About 2 years ago my rather aged Uncle learned that his dad wasn’t his father, but that he was the son of a famous aboriginal tightrope walker from Lismore. Being a very religious man he wasn’t so happy about the shock discovery, but my cousin has been having fun exploring it all. Sometimes you just can’t be sure who your father is. Haha. I’m not related to the circus fella, but it’s now part of my family story. Watching to below ABC video and seeing the photos, I swear its like looking at my uncle when I was a wee-tacker. He used to look almost identical.

Leave a comment